How to get really good at a second language (Spanish)

Discuss and talk about any general topic.
fightforlove
Junior Poster

How to get really good at a second language (Spanish)

Post by fightforlove »

For those of you who've acquired strong proficiency in a second language, what is the best way to go about this?

I studied Spanish at university, took 6 courses plus two 2-3 week trips to Spain. I just got back from another trip to Spain for 9 days, my Spanish was noticeably stronger this time as I could go further into conversations with my friends. I would say that I'm soft conversational at this point.

How can I get stronger to the point of being able to speak more confidently and go into deeper conversation topics. Right now, I have a strong vocabulary and verb conjugating skillset to have everyday conversations, but I struggle with forming grammatically proper sentences, speaking in the past/future subjective tenses, and I lack the deeper vocabulary for more specific topics, such as what I do in my job, politics, history, etc.

Would a program like Rosetta Stone help me at this point? I hear that it totally immerses you to help create more fluid speaking/listening skills. I would already know a lot of the vocab/verbs taught in the early levels, but the higher levels may help me. Any thoughts?
Wolfeye
Experienced Poster

Re: How to get really good at a second language (Spanish)

Post by Wolfeye »

Would like to know that myself. I tried to use that Rosetta Stone thing, but it seems more useful as a suppliment than to outright learn it from. What would always happen was I would remember things when I saw the PICTURE, but not the real thing. That said, it is pretty useful to be able to practice the pronunciation & have some idea of if you're saying it right, to be able to practice reading the written language, and to be able to practice typing it.
xiongmao
Veteran Poster

Post by xiongmao »